First day in Vancity

After a tumultuous year, I have arrived in Vancouver to study in UBC for Term 2. Studying abroad has always been a dream of mine, and the road was kinda complicated but I hope it is worth it.

I fell in love with Vancouver when I visited on the spring break (’16) and coming to Vancouver definitely contributed with my decision to apply for exchange in UBC.

img_5395
Sunrise in the River District.

The trip MTY-HOU-YVR was long and tiring, with my flight being rescheduled for a later time, I left my house (and Watson 😦 ) at 9:30 am (CT) , and arrived in Vancouver at 10:30 pm, which was basically the next day in Monterrey.

I’m staying at my cousin’s house (she and her husband are the best) before I move in to the university’s residences on Monday. She lives a little bit far from downtown, but omg the view is amazing! I got up really early, so I got to watch the most amazing sunrise in  the river, my cousin’s literal backyard.

I got some tamales for breakfast and watched the news so I could make time before going to downtown, as I didn’t want to go very early in the morning. Also I had to do a little research on Canadian currency to make sure I knew which coin was which. I needed to pay in exact cash the 2.75 bus fare in order to get to Marine Drive Skytrain Station and get a Compass Card ($6) and a Day Pass for public transportation ($9.75)

After that, I went to Café Medina, which is a popular café in Vancouver to which I had gone in Spring Break (and fallen in love with it). I got a granola, two of their famous belgian waffles and a Lavander Mocha Latté, that was about $24 with tip. The wait time was about 1hr 1/2, but as I was alone, I got a seat on the bar in about 5 minutes, the staff is great and the bartender that served me was awesome, he recommended the white chocolate pistachio-lavander topping for the waffles and it was great.

 

After Café Medina, I visited Vancouver Public Library which is just down the street, it makes me really happy that this city has an amazing library as it is not common in

img_5407
The universe telling me something

Monterrey. To get a library card I have to go back with a proof of address and my student visa.  Then, I walked down the street and visited BC Place on the outside, before deciding to go to Gastown for a walk, as I was already in downtown and wanted to explore for a bit before coming back home.  I took a wrong turn looking for a street and found a graffiti which really struck me as an important sign. After that I basically wandered around Gastown, and walked all the way to Canada Place.

I must say that we were at like 1º C, but the sun was out and I only had to wear a big sweater and a thermal shirt underneath. It was even hot with all the walking around, so I hope next week that I’m at UBC the sun is out too.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

